Select by:

Clear All
Age:
Categories:
  1. Activity (201)
  2. Australian (3707)
  3. Awards/Prizes/Graduation (172)
  4. Bestseller (1079)
  5. Books for Grown-ups (305)
  6. CBCA 2017 Shortlist (31)
  7. CBCA 2018 Shortlist (34)
  8. CBCA Notables 2017 (136)
  9. Classroom Novel (275)
  10. Coogee Boys Prep Birthday Book List (617)
  11. Feature Title (0)
  12. Film & TV Tie-in (121)
  13. First Chapter Book (365)
  14. Gift (402)
  15. High Interest/Low Level (72)
  16. Homework (24)
  17. INKY Awards (142)
  18. Library Essentials - Primary (3270)
  19. Library Essentials - Secondary (1683)
  20. Literature Circles (years 3-6) (98)
  21. New Release (68)
  22. Non Fiction (990)
  23. Parenting (78)
  24. Reluctant Readers (802)
  25. Signed by the Author/Illustrator (26)
  26. VCE/HSC (4)
  27. We Recommend (770)
Theme:
  1. Activity (352)
  2. Adventure (3067)
  3. Alphabet (65)
  4. Animals (1631)
  5. ANZAC Day (53)
  6. Art (92)
  7. Asia-Pacific (94)
  8. Autobiography/Biography (236)
  9. Babies (126)
  10. Bedtime (138)
  11. Bullying (115)
  12. Celebrations (172)
  13. Christmas (152)
  14. Classics (297)
  15. Colours (94)
  16. Coming of Age / Teen Issues (354)
  17. Cooking & Food (44)
  18. Craft (10)
  19. Cultural Diversity (341)
  20. Dads (55)
  21. Dance (73)
  22. Dinosaurs (138)
  23. Diversity (149)
  24. Dragons (66)
  25. Easter (22)
  26. Environment & Society (425)
  27. Fairies (122)
  28. Fairytales (212)
  29. Family (1395)
  30. Feelings (236)
  31. First Concepts (141)
  32. First Time Events (85)
  33. First Words (10)
  34. Friendship (1683)
  35. Grandparents (63)
  36. Graphic Novel (165)
  37. Grief (205)
  38. Health and Wellbeing (440)
  39. Historical (851)
  40. Horror/Thriller (478)
  41. Humour (1709)
  42. Imaginative Play (92)
  43. Indigenous (153)
  44. LGBT (64)
  45. Magic and Fantasy (141)
  46. Manners (31)
  47. Maths (28)
  48. Migrants (116)
  49. Mums (63)
  50. Music (71)
  51. Mystery (490)
  52. Myths & Legends (121)
  53. Numbers (139)
  54. Pirates (101)
  55. Plays (26)
  56. Poetry (130)
  57. Princesses (90)
  58. Reading (53)
  59. Romance (619)
  60. School Stories (236)
  61. Science and Nature (400)
  62. Seasons (31)
  63. Short Stories (198)
  64. Siblings (93)
  65. Sound (19)
  66. Space (54)
  67. Speculative Fiction (1747)
  68. Sport (311)
  69. Starting School (49)
  70. Super Heroes (37)
  71. Transport (139)
  72. Travel (136)
  73. War (369)
  74. Writing (22)
Format:
  1. Hardback (3137)
  2. Paperback (8854)
Character:
  1. Artemis Fowl (11)
  2. Batman (2)
  3. Dr Who (6)
  4. Hairy Maclary (20)
  5. Harry Potter (40)
  6. Madeline (0)
  7. Olivia (9)
  8. Spiderman (3)
  9. Tashi (1)
  10. Where's Wally? (13)
Series:
  1. Alex Rider (15)
  2. Alice-Miranda (19)
  3. Artemis Fowl (11)
  4. Asterix (7)
  5. Aussie Bites (0)
  6. Aussie Nibbles (8)
  7. Bad Guys (8)
  8. Beast Quest (24)
  9. Big Nate (7)
  10. Billie B Brown (23)
  11. Bloodlines (6)
  12. Brotherband (7)
  13. Captain Underpants (20)
  14. Chaos Walking (6)
  15. Cherub (17)
  16. Clarice Bean (6)
  17. Clementine Rose (18)
  18. Clothbound Classics (14)
  19. Conspiracy 365 (12)
  20. Deltora Quest (15)
  21. Diary of a Wimpy Kid (27)
  22. Dork Diaries (15)
  23. Dragonkeeper (10)
  24. Dreaming Narrative (4)
  25. EJ12 Girl Hero (17)
  26. Ella and Olivia (21)
  27. Essential Modern Classics (4)
  28. Extreme Adventures (8)
  29. Fallen (7)
  30. Famous Five (27)
  31. Go Girl (2)
  32. Hairy Maclary (15)
  33. Hardy Boys Adventures (0)
  34. Harry Potter (56)
  35. Henderson's Boys (7)
  36. Heroes of Olympus (8)
  37. Hey Jack! (1)
  38. Horrible Histories (16)
  39. Hot Dog (0)
  40. I Can Be.... (1)
  41. In 30 Seconds (7)
  42. In the Night Garden (5)
  43. Infernal Devices (5)
  44. Infinity Ring (0)
  45. Judy Moody (16)
  46. Ladybird Classics (2)
  47. Ladybird Read-It-Yourself (27)
  48. Ladybird Tales (2)
  49. Lulu Bell (16)
  50. Maxx Rumble (16)
  51. Mission Fox (6)
  52. Mortal Instruments (17)
  53. My First (0)
  54. Nancy Drew Diaries (14)
  55. Not-For-Parents (6)
  56. Olive and Moss (1)
  57. Our Australian Girl (52)
  58. Penguin Classic (0)
  59. Percy Jackson (17)
  60. Play School (1)
  61. Pocket Eyewitness (1)
  62. Pokemon (0)
  63. Popular Penguins (0)
  64. Puffin Classics (41)
  65. Puffin Modern Classics (7)
  66. Ranger's Apprentice (14)
  67. Ruby Redfort (2)
  68. Samurai Kids (0)
  69. Science in Action (5)
  70. Sea Quest (4)
  71. Secret History (2)
  72. Secret Seven (16)
  73. Skulduggery Pleasant (11)
  74. Sophie and the Shadow Woods (1)
  75. Specky Magee (9)
  76. Spell Sisters (6)
  77. Spirit Animals (15)
  78. Strange Angels (5)
  79. Tashi (0)
  80. The 39 Clues (5)
  81. The ABC Book Of ... (1)
  82. The Billionaire Trilogy (1)
  83. The Caster Chronicles (5)
  84. The Chocolate Box Girls (0)
  85. The Chronicles of Narnia (10)
  86. The Gallagher Girls (5)
  87. The Hunger Games (8)
  88. The Inheritance Cycle (5)
  89. The Kane Chronicles (4)
  90. The Keepers (1)
  91. The Legacy of Tril (1)
  92. The Luxe (4)
  93. The Morganville Vampires (14)
  94. The Obernewtyn Chronicles (6)
  95. The Spiderwick Chronicles (5)
  96. The Wardstone Chronicles (11)
  97. Time Riders (5)
  98. Tinga Tinga (2)
  99. Tom Gates (14)
  100. Tomorrow, When the War Began (13)
  101. Toocool (1)
  102. Touch and Feel (2)
  103. Urban Outlaws (5)
  104. Vampire Academy (13)
  105. Vampire Diaries (5)
  106. Vintage Children's Classics (25)
  107. WAARDA (6)
  108. Walker Classics (3)
  109. Walker Stories (2)
  110. Wings & Co (2)
  111. Young Bond (5)
  112. Young Samurai (5)
  113. Zac Power (21)
Price:
  1. $0.00 - $9.99 (994)
  2. $10.00 - $14.99 (3797)
  3. $15.00 - $19.99 (5117)
  4. $20.00 - $29.99 (2389)
  5. $30.00 - $249.99 (525)
Category:
  1. Activity (19)
  2. Asia-Pacific (3)
  3. Australian (1667)
  4. Bestseller (644)
  5. Books for Grown-ups (106)
  6. Clearance (189)
  7. Family (5)
  8. Feature Title (1)
  9. First Chapter Book (156)
  10. Gift (170)
  11. Graphic Novel (26)
  12. Homework (2)
  13. New Release (64)
  14. Non Fiction (126)
  15. Short Stories (17)
  16. Girls (106)
  17. Boys (148)
  18. VCE/HSC (12)
  19. Coogee Boys Prep Birthday Books (613)

A Friend in the Dark

  • Age Range: 6 - 8,8 - 10
  • Gender: Boys & Girls,Boys,Girls
  • Theme: Family,Feelings,Friendship
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781406372601
  • Publisher: Walker Books Australia
  • Published: April 2017

Price

$14.99

Shipping ++
Shipping Free on all orders over $100 in Australia

FAQ ++

Book Description

Victor is a failure at everything – school, girls, making his dad feel better about his mother having left them. When Marie-Jose, the smartest girl in the class and musical prodigy, starts helping him with his maths homework, there must be something she wants in return. A memorable coming-of-age story, told with humour and tenderness, perfect for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce, Jacqueline Wilson and Lara Williamson. A film adaptation of the novel will be released in France and Germany in October 2016. A thought-provoking and beautifully written debut by a highly regarded author.